Set up Read Only option for subscribers

Read Only option allows you to place subscribers in a special status where they will receive all messages posted to the list, but they cannot post a message to the list without your approval.

This option is useful if your list allows messages to be posted without list moderator approval. It allows you to control the messages of certain selected subscribers.

Follow these instructions to turn this feature on or off:

 

Read Only Option

Read Only Option

Send an email to our system by using the command: ADDREADONLY

Send an email to our system by using the command: ADDREADONLY

After sending the command in, you will receive one confirmation email from our system acknowledging your request and one email for each subscriber whose email address was listed on your email, confirming the addition of the email address to the ADDREADONLY list.

Helpful information: If you want to remove any subscribers from the Read Only status, send in the command DELREADONLY following the same format as described in the image above.  To see the list of subscribers in Read Only status, send in the command SHOWREADONLY following the same format as described in the image above.

This is how the first confirmation email will look like:

This is how the first confirmation email will look like:

And here is how the second and the rest of the emails will look like for each subscriber that has been added on the Read Only list:

And here is how the second and the rest of the emails will look like for each subscriber that has been added on the Read Only list:

In addition, you can have all new subscribers automatically put into Read Only status by following these steps:

Log into your mail-list account at https://database.mail-list.com.

Click on "Monitor New Subscribers" under "Miscellaneous Settings":

Click on "Monitor New Subscribers" under "Miscellaneous Settings":

 

 

Select the radio button preceding "Yes":

Select the radio button preceding "Yes":

Click on Save button

You will be taken back to the previous screen where a new option will appear:

You will be taken back to the previous screen where a new option will appear:

Click on it and you will get an option to select "Yes" or "No". If you choose "Yes", after you approve the first message of a new subscriber, all of their subsequent messages will be automatically approved.

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment