How do I approve a message before it is sent to the subscriber list?
Overview of the process:
Turn on Moderate Messages Setting
Log into your mail-list account at https://database.mail-list.com.
- Click Customize Your List.
- Click Miscellaneous Settings.
- Click Moderate Subscriber Messages.
- Choose Approve Each Message Posted.
- Click Save.
For step by step instructions about making changes to your mail-list account, please refer to this post:
When your subscriber sends a message to the list, it is assigned a serial number and saved in our system queue. An email is sent to you.
- If you approve the message, simply click Reply and Send.
- The message will be released from the queue and sent to your subscribers.
- If you do not approve the message, do one of the following:
- Ignore the message. It will automatically be deleted in 30 days. OR
- Click Reply. In the Subject Line, change APPROVE to DISCARD. Click Send. The message will be deleted from our queue.
- The original sender of the message is not notified of the disapproval.
Example of the Approval email is shown below:
Multiple Moderators - one approval
If you have multiple moderators, everyone gets the same message. The first moderator to reply, wins.
- If they Approve the message, it goes to your mailing list.
- If they Reject the message, it will be deleted and not sent to your mailing list.
Multiple Moderators - multiple approvals
If the second (or third) moderator also replies to a COMMAND APPROVE message, it will be rejected with an error since the action has already been completed.
The error email subject line will indicate:
Subject: [Youremailgroup] MODERATE ERROR
Example error email shown below: